Listen to your teachers

1

July 26, 2013 by olivere7

It’s Friday, and I’m officially five days into my “big kid job”. Reflecting on a week filled with press releases, advertisements and social media posts, I’m frankly amazed at where I am. If someone had told me five years ago that this is where I’d end up, I’d have laughed at them.

Oh wait, I did.

2008 was the first year that Byron high school seniors were required to do exit projects. As a junior, I watched students from the class ahead of me struggle to fit in the required hours of community service, compile “vision boards,” deliver their life plan in a presentation and answer questions about their uncertain futures.

I was excited to complete my exit project the following year, and was vaguely disappointed that as an AP Lit student, I was exempt from the presentation requirement. After all, I was comfortable in front of a room of people and was POSITIVE that unlike the others, my life plan was flawless.

Imagine my surprise when my teacher told me I was wrong.

Yep, Lisa Trebtoske (a.k.a. “TrebNazi” or “Treb,” affectionately) informed me in no uncertain terms that I had my life plan completely backward.

I was headed to MSU as a Kinesiology major with intentions of attending grad school for Physical Therapy. She was the one person who recognized that I wasn’t cut out for science. In fact, her one-sided conversation (lecture?) went something like this:

“Why would you want to major in science? That’s not who you are. THIS (brandishing my most recent AP paper) and THAT (pointing to the picture on her bulletin board of me kissing a show steer) are who you are. You’ll be in agriculture, and you’ll write.”

Off I went to my orientation at MSU. Half an hour into the Kinesiology department chair’s presentation and one minor panic attack later, I sought out my counselor and asked to be switched to the College of Agriculture and Natural Resources orientation room. Four years and two major changes later, I graduated with a B.S. in Agribusiness Management and had spent three and a half years working for the ANR Communications department.

Image

I ended up where I needed to be.

One month after graduation, I accepted a full time position with the Michigan Soybean Promotion Committee. My title? Communication Director. My job responsibilities? According to the back of my business card:

  • Media Relations
  • Soybean Farmer Outreach
  • Social Media
  • Web Administration

What does all that mean?

I work in agriculture.

And I write.

Touché, Treb.

One thought on “Listen to your teachers

  1. Tami Allmand says:

    That’s a great resume style. My daughter is going into 7th grade at Byron and I hope she can accomplish her goals like you did. Good luck in the future.

Leave a Reply

